H

4 Messages

 • 

94 Points

Saturday, September 3rd, 2022 10:30 PM

Closed

Solved

Ring of Power Review Question

Why cant I read any review of this show that is lower then 6 stars? They just dont exists

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

5 months ago

So, please tell me, how it feels to make fake rating on the products for exempl "lord of rings" by deleting all negative review even if that review only have constructive criticism?

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Fake rating

4 Messages

 • 

82 Points

This site use to be trusted 

6 Messages

 • 

124 Points

@BadPenny​ agreed i loved using imbd for honest rating reviews but if they are doing this for something I thought was at least a 3 or 4 not a 10 cant even do that. Absolutely stupid

Champion

 • 

2.7K Messages

 • 

69.2K Points

@BadPenny​ It's nearly impossible to deal with the right wing trolls that are offended by anything that is non-white.

Champion

 • 

2.7K Messages

 • 

69.2K Points

@tommytoast​ The only reason you'd rate this show this low is because of white supremacy which is exactly what IMDb is trying to fight against.

5 Messages

 • 

182 Points

@adrian​ 

It’s impossible to tell if this person is serious or not. These folks are a parody even when serious.

It’s now racist to not like a tv show, LOL… 

6 Messages

 • 

124 Points

@adrian​ wow how ignorant are you. I'm actually not white so jokes on you for assuming this was about race. This show is not good. I don't give a crap what race they are. 

4 Messages

 • 

112 Points

@adrian​ so any shows that "white supremacists" won't like must be only worthy of good feedback then? Any negative feedback is invalid against said show? How ridiculous. This is a mockery of rating systems.

I for one am not from USA so that stuff doesn't mean anything here, I have yet the watch the show, I might even be rating it over 6. Who knows. But this perversion of the rating system needs to stop if you want people to trust that they're real.

36 Messages

 • 

374 Points

@Petern​ the show is tragically bad. In the spirit of fairness, I watched episodes 1 & 2. But after one & 1/2 hours, I was still only 20 minutes in - deciphering pseudo-intellectual dribble is not easy. Rings of Power is every generic fantasy ever made, all rolled into one. Think Eternals meets Thor meets Wheel of Time, who trundle off to Worzel Gummidge for tea and a plate of gore with scones and cream - before cartwheeling or ambling off - it varies from scene to scene, to the next who-knows-why. The script is a hodge-podge of I-want-to-seem-deep unintelligible nonsense, while the acting is reminiscent of a high school play. Meanwhile, Galadriel is a mean girl training for the Cross Channel Olympics. Durin actor Owain Arthur was fine but Aramayo is no Elrond and Charles Edwards' Celebrimbor is laughable. The Elves are plodding humans with stuck-on pointy ears, Harfoots are depicted as filthy Irish peasants with human feet and fake Irish accents, and a character who everyone suspects will turn out to be Gandalf called The Stranger bombed down to Earth in a ball of fire like Superman arriving from Krypton.

Amazon borrowed on the most read, beloved and acclaimed high fantasy scholarly books ever written, name-dropped characters and places then said, "We know better, here's Marvel meets Disney."


I submitted a similar review on 3rd September and it is STILL pending. Keep in mind that I am not from the States either, so accusations of racism have no meaning. Amazon owning IMDb is a fact I learnt just the other day. You may have missed the additional gem that they blocked reviews on their own site as soon as negative ones came in (the majority were about everything else BUT race.)

(edited)

6 Messages

 • 

124 Points

5 months ago

I watched Lord of the Rings and you guys can't even let users put in a 5/10 stars or review any comments other then your 6 and up. Manipulation much??? I have been using your review site because I trusted the user reviews other then using Rotten because they now have manipulated the score. Now Amazon, Rotten, and IMBD are in bed doing the same thing. Stupid and untrustworthy! 

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Disappointed on the censorship and manipulation

4 Messages

 • 

82 Points

Agreed

10 Messages

 • 

200 Points

I've just discovered that IMDB is a subsidiary of Amazon, which explains everything. The showrunners at Amazon know this show is an objectively poor adaptation of the LoTR franchise, and they will do everything in their power to hide that fact from us, the consumers.

They're running scared. Rather than take full responsibility for hiring these inept, amateur writers and actors that created this hot mess of a series, they choose to blame their viewers instead by pulling out the racism card. Pure hubris. Embarrassing stuff from Amazon.

IMDB (and Amazon by extension) has forgotten the universal truth of retail; the customer is always right. Always. No, you do not get to decide which type of customer is right. That's not how it works. Own your mistake, take the hit, and show the reviews for what they are.

You can't hide forever.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

5 months ago

This is really a cowardly move by Amazon. I know they own IMDB but with these actions they just undermine their own already lackluster credibility.

Interestingly I saw the negative reviews before they hid them and most of the early reviews were negative, not because of race or some bullshit (this didn't even come up because if there is enough wrong with the show on a basic level, these nitpicks become irrelevant), but because of the awful dialogues, the unlikable characters, the extremely slow pace where noting is happening and the horrible structure, starting multiple plot lines most of them totally uninteresting.

So, Amazon owns IMDB, Disney owns Rotten Tomatoes...I wonder what big company will buy Metacritic next so there is no big, relevant and somewhat independent review site left.

Time for a new platform where opinions can be shared with everyone not only those that please our corporate overlords.

 

(edited)

16 Messages

 • 

168 Points

5 months ago

All Lord of the Rings: Rings of Power reviews UNDER 6 (that is, 5 and below) are missing.

Only good reviews 6+ appear.

So this is either some kind of problem OR it's review deception.

Edit add - sorry, I didn't see this thread, my post got merged in. But it stands, I did not rate this show as a 6+ and my review is missing. After reading through the thread, I see it IS subterfuge on part of IMDB. Shame on them.

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Missing Reviews

(edited)

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

5 months ago

I have been trying to post a review of Rings of Power, unfortunately none of my reviews are shown. I can only see reviews that are at least 6 or better. Anything below (like mine) has been removed. 

How long is amazon planning to censor the freedom of speech? Is IMDB even reliable if Amazon is simply allowed to do this? 

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Is amazon censoring freedom of speech?

4 Messages

 • 

80 Points

5 months ago

Is amazon censoring freedom of speech?


This is my second post about this question here as my first already got deleted, even though it is a simple valid question I would like to get answer for...

On top, I got limited to post again from my original account... I attached a screengrab of that.

My main issue however:
I am not able to post a review for Rings of Power. There is not a single review below 6 at to moment. My review that is below this number got deleted, and my re-post is not shown.

Please Amazon, explain why people are not allowed to rate this show lower then 6!?

Is IMDB even reliable source for movie ratings?

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Is amazon censoring freedom of speech?

4 Messages

 • 

80 Points

Also, when posting a review, I have to write at least 600 characters now, while many of the allowed positive ratings are even below 200 characters? Why was this limit increased now? 

16 Messages

 • 

168 Points

5 months ago

I've noticed - I can't give ANY review that's negative.

I tested it yesterday - re-writing 3 reviews for shows I did not like (Rings of Power, The Sandman, House of Dragons)

and I re-wrote a review for a movie I liked (Smaratin with Stallone)

This morning, the review for the movie I liked - it's now there, but not the other ones.

Blatent deception and deliberatly pumping up ratings and reviews FASELY.

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Rating Manipulation

16 Messages

 • 

168 Points

5 months ago

IMBD is apparently censoring a LOT of show reviews if they are NOT positive.

It's funny - that means review bombings from bots giving 10 will get through, but any review for any show that isn't positive will not. 

Makes reviewing stuff kind of pointless if you have to give them the review THEY think you should.

16 Messages

 • 

168 Points

I tried to post not so great reviews for The Sandman (Netflix), a League of their own (Amazon series), Rings of Power (Amazon Series), She-Hulk (Marvel/Disney), House of Dragons (HBO) - nothing on ANY of them

I posted 1 good review of Samaritan (Stallone/Amazon) it appeared the next morning for me.

10 Messages

 • 

200 Points

IMDB is a disgrace to the entertainment industry. They have destroyed any credibility they might have had with this latest embarrassment of hiding negative reviews.

We need to bring more attention to this, I'm going to share this thread with every youtube content creator on my follow list, which is about 140.

2 Messages

 • 

78 Points

5 months ago

Hi there.

I posted a review of Rings of Power on 2nd September. You wrote to me saying that it would be processed by 3rd September. The review is still "pending" and no new processing date has been given. 

Could you let me know why the review I took trouble to write and post is being ignored? This does not feel very community-spirited and defeats the object of inviting user reviews. 

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Review still pending 5 days past stated processing date

36 Messages

 • 

374 Points

5 months ago

Hi IMDb Team,

I submitted a review on 3rd September. Six days have passed and it is still pending. Please see attached screenshot and URL.

https://contribute.imdb.com/contribution/220903-064227-711604?ref_=pe_3181150_242625130

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled My contribution is still pending - not approved

10 Messages

 • 

200 Points

5 months ago

@AmazonPrime

By working with IMDB to hide negative feedback on Rings of Power, you've forced me to cancel my subscription. You represent everything that is wrong in Hollywood and society today.

Bye.

(edited)

6 Messages

 • 

116 Points

5 months ago

So I wrote a few reviews on the same day, and updated an older review.  But one of those reviews:

https://contribute.imdb.com/contribution/220903-011007-547004

has been sitting there on "pending" for about a week now.  Despite the "Estimated processing date 3 September 2022"

Is it stuck in a buffer somewhere?  Could someone poke it please?

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Review delayed for a week.
cinephile

3.8K Messages

 • 

63.2K Points

5 months ago

As of now, there are only 74 reviews on the Rings of Powers' IMDb page, that might not be much, but all reviews are really helpful and speak volumes about the quality of the show. I think IMDb's doing a wonderful job at censoring reviews. For once, IMDb hears our complaints about vote fraud and review bots. I hope they apply the policy they have applied to Amazon Prime's Ring of Powers to all other movies and TV Shows. Sincerely, this is one of the best things to ever happen on IMDb, a major problem has finally been solved. 

I thank IMDb employees for their hard work and remarkable integrity. As the great French philosopher, Voltaire said: "I wholly disapprove of what you say and will censor to the death your right to say it." It was time to cancel those internet orcs!!!

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Ring of Powers Reviews Censure :)

(edited)

10 Messages

 • 

200 Points

@cinephile​ 

First you say: "all reviews are really helpful and speak volumes about the quality of the show".

Then you say: "I think IMDb's doing a wonderful job at censoring reviews"

I find it laughable that you think your post riddled with contradictions and stereotypes is helpful to Amazon/IDBM, but all you have done is point out the bias in their review system for this show.

Thanks for that.

As a side note: you come off as a shill, a supposedly "expert critic" brought and paid for by Amazon. Any integrity and credibility you may have had before your reviews of Rings of Power have diminished to the point of non-existence. We don't trust you guys anymore.

(edited)

36 Messages

 • 

374 Points

@cinephile​ 

1. Voltaire didn't say that, Evelyn Hall did. And what she said was entirely different:

"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it"
- BUT WILL DEFEND are the keywords.
3. House of The Dragon has 897 User Reviews - Ratings vary between 1 star and 10 stars.
4. Rings of Power has 74 Reviews - Lowest rating is 6 stars
- which means 100s of ratings and reviews by people like me have been deleted
5. According to your logic, bots and trolls only attack Rings of Power and must be censored, but let them rip the hell out of House of The Dragon
6. My rating for Rings of Power is not there at all. My review is still pending. I'm an Oxford graduate of English Language & Literature. My college was not far from where Professor Tolkien once taught and wrote his books.
7. Who are you? A paid company schill?

(edited)

36 Messages

 • 

374 Points

@cinephile​ 

OMG - LOL. You're so lame you liked your own comment.

BTW, I checked your profile. You've given a ton of 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5-star ratings. Welcome to The World of Bots and Trolls.

4 Messages

 • 

94 Points

Obviously cinephile's post was sarcastic, one of the best examples of it I've ever seen.

cinephile

3.8K Messages

 • 

63.2K Points

@joecho​ 

Thank you for noticing. 😁

10 Messages

 • 

200 Points

@cinephile​ 

Looks like I owe you an apology, dude. Your post went right over my head lol

cinephile

3.8K Messages

 • 

63.2K Points

@rlwieneke​ 

I have been on this forum for years, and on IMDb even longer.  I have learned that overtly criticizing employees and IMDb doesn't bring any changes. These specific issues about bots, trolls, and review censure come up frequently. Most often IMDb does nothing about it. They will post a canned response and merge all different conversations. When they do that, you know they have already made up their mind. There is nothing one can do except take it with a dose of humor to distillate one's frustration. 

When such things, or the reverse where IMDb doesn't filter troll reviews at all, happen as it did recently on the Anne Boleyn show, on Cuties, and countless Indian films, it is annoying. 

But, this time, I thought about leaving IMDb. What looked like manipulation for the benefit of the parent company was too much, for me. I have come to tolerate a certain percentage of fake reviews and rating manipulation, but when the rating manipulation comes directly from IMDb, it undermines seriously their reputation as " the world's most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content.". For a split second, I thought we had returned to the early days of film criticism when studios would prosecute film critics in defamation to censor opinions. Today, with the reinstatement of the reviews, I learned that IMDb's intentions weren't malicious, but still, the fact that it lasted for a few days concerns me, if they wanted to publish only positive reviews they could very well do so. In the age of social media, big corporations have a lot of power, especially when they control the media.

16 Messages

 • 

168 Points

It may not have been malicious, but it was deliberate and it was deceptive and it was likely at the behest of the parent company. This site has no integrity and it's review process cannot be trusted. It's till useful to get information on who's in a movie, but they obviously allow manipulation of their review section.

Bots upvote just like they downvote. If they were truly worried about review bombing they would have stopped ALL reviews, but they did not - because (and probably at the behest of Amazon), it's all important to get people to watch for those for the "hours viewed" numbers, so in order to push that, they allowed all the positive reviews, fake or not. 

No Integrity. Big corporations have a lot of power, we saw them flex here, we've seen Disney flex as well and even Rotton Tomatoes bows under the pressure by deleting negative reviews, but never positive ones, even the obvious fake ones.

And you know,. EVERY review on amazon where it says "verified" comes from an account tied to a credit card account and phone number and address. Those were NOT going to be fake reviews from bots. It was a misdirection.  No Integrity.

It's a good thing we have so many youtube people who are willing to speak out against these powerful corporations and speak out about their deceptions, or a lot of people might not ever know.

(edited)

4 Messages

 • 

112 Points

@cinephile​ Are the reviews truly reinstated? That's probably less than half of the reviews, mine is still pending since September 3rd... Its even more shady that they decided to slide in a few bad reviews to give the notion nothing is going on anymore. They are still silently knocking up the overall rating and hiding an unknown portion of reviews... Perennial fraud.

(edited)

4 Messages

 • 

94 Points

@cinephile​ The voltaire line is criminally funny.  I'm going to plagiarize that :)

36 Messages

 • 

374 Points

@cinephile​ 

It looks like I owe you an apology. So here it is, plus an explanation: Although I've used IMDb for years (general purposes, actors, trailers) - I never signed up because, quite frankly, I don't have time to review or even interest in doing so. With Rings of Power, however, I was furious.

Tolkien's Legendarium has rested by my bedside since I was 12. I travelled 8 hours by ferry to watch Fellowship with a friend - it was a pact we made. I still rewatch all three movies at least twice a year.

When The Hobbit came out, most Tolkien fans, including me, declared it a disaster. I suspect the studio interfered; perhaps Jackson's hand was forced. That said, there were some brilliant parts: Martin Freeman's Bilbo is a great example. After Rings, The Hobbit is a masterpiece by comparison. Quite an achievement, don't you think?

And even if Rings of Power went by another name and had nothing to do with Tolkien - it would still be tossed on the ever-growing rubbish heap of generic fantasy Hollywood churns out. "We spent a lot of money on this - eat it." There's no doubt that in places, Rings is visually beautiful. But no amount of money can obscure the awfulness of everything else.

Although I'd seen every Rings of Power trailer and read every interview - and knew what to expect - in the spirit of fairness, I vowed to watch the first two episodes.

My 2-star review is still pending. Probably because I'm a new member therefore a bot or troll - take your pick. I wrote about the tragic script, nonsensical plot and amateur acting. Was it scathing? Yes. Did it mention race? No. I already uploaded it as a screenshot somewhere here, wondering why the status was pending after 6 days. 

For the record, and because it appears to be a prerequisite for daring to criticize anything these days, I am not from the US or UK. My 'Aegean' skin type is not included in Tolkien's writings. He was very clear on this. Tolkien wrote folklore for his country and countrymen, to replace that which was lost. This is logical and normal. 

But the worst part? The show is boring. I found myself pacing the room, making endless coffees, and surfing the net. "This is horrible," I thought. "Why am I putting myself through this?". I had actually planned to edit my review once it went public - add the boring element and other things. 

At the time of review, I didn't know that Amazon owns IMDb. Oh, for the days of innocence.

Amazon's butchering of Tolkien's world and lore, the arrogance of various statements (paraphrase) "writing the book that Tolkien never wrote", attacking fans for not liking the show, and disingenuous accusations of racism are among the reasons I opened an IMDb account.

This was the one time I wanted my voice heard.

I'd always considered IMDb far better than Rotten Tomatoes. Now it appears they are as bad as each other.

But after the site's censoring for several days, and in my case, non-publication, I doubt I'll be leaving other reviews. I don't have the time or patience for a 600-character minimum. Nor do I care enough.

(edited)

6 Messages

 • 

116 Points

@cinephile​ Still not reinstated for me.  Still pending 9 days after writing.

2.4K Messages

 • 

74.3K Points

@Joanna

I don't have the time or patience for a 600-character minimum. 

Yet you did have time and patience for a 3000+ character post :)

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

5 months ago

So I gave episode 2 a 6/10 and wrote the following text (contains spoilers), I really don't see what is wrong with it and why it would get declined for 'not meeting contribution guidelines'.

The only thing I can think off is that I said dark-skinned? Calling someone light-skinned or dark-skinned is not offensive though is it?

Contribution #220906-125743-484604

I have watched both episodes 1 and 2, I will continue to watch episode 3, but so far the show is just extremely average.

The visuals are stunning, the budget did its job there. I don't love the look of the elves themselves, they dont look very defining Elvish, same with the female dwarves. But I can get past that.

I would have liked them to better visuallise where in middle earth the different locations are. The quick map shots are too unclear and the descriptions vague 'southern lands' doesnt tell you much. I suppose that is where Gondor will be.

The show is not bad, but nothing so far excites me going towards episode 3. The characters are very plain.

Galadriel is the know-it-all heroin, who is brave and all that stuff.

Nori is the young curious one, she has potential to become interesting.

Elrond is not really a personallity (yet). Just very bland.

The female dwarf surprised me in a good way, her scenes though few and not fery defining yet made me smile.

And the dark skinned elf assuming he survived could be interesting, I just really hope it wont revolve around his love for that human woman. Who also could become an interesting character.

Story itself, dark lord was defeated, everyone was happy except for few who expected return. People call in this case Galadriel a fool, Return indeed happens.

Its very basic but can still work. Often how you tell a story is more important than what the story actually is.

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Review does not meet contribution guidelines (Rings of Power)

2 Messages

 • 

76 Points

5 months ago

IMDb or Amazon... you are going in the opposite direction of where you should be going if you want to lift the airplane and avoid the crash. The episodes are bad. For many reasons. Saying the fans are racist or pretending the bad reviews don't exist... is just going to make things worse for the series' "popularity". My 2-star review is pending approval XD.