H

4 Messages

 • 

94 Points

Sat, Sep 3, 2022 10:30 PM

Closed

Solved

Ring of Power Review Question

Why cant I read any review of this show that is lower then 6 stars? They just dont exists

Official Response

Employee

 • 

415 Messages

 • 

41.2K Points

3 months ago

As the world’s most popular and authoritative source for information on movies, TV shows, and celebrities, IMDb offers a variety of innovative features, products, and services to help entertainment fans discover and decide what to watch, including more than one billion customer ratings and 7 million customer reviews.

IMDb registered users can review and rate (on a 1-10 scale) more than 11 million titles on IMDb. IMDb calculates a weighted user average based on these ratings to provide a snapshot of the title’s assessment by IMDb customers worldwide.

When unusual rating or review activity is detected (e.g. patterns consistent with an organized intent to manipulate perception of the title) our system employs additional methodologies, which can include temporarily pausing the display of new and existing reviews while we investigate. We continually update and strengthen our rating and reviews systems to ensure genuine customer sentiment is accurately represented.

(edited)

5 Messages

 • 

182 Points

@Giancarlo_Cairella​ 

Have you considered people just don’t like it? Are people not allowed to dislike the show because Amazon pumped a ton of money into it?

Authoritative? More like Authoritarian…

10 Messages

 • 

200 Points

@Giancarlo_Cairella​ 

That's interesting.

You consider 20,631 1-star reviews for the Rings of Power to be "unusual", but 27,100 10-star reviews legitimate?

It's clear as day that both sides are review-bombing Rings of Power right now, but you decide to show only the positive reviews (7 through 10) whilst hiding the others. That's blatant bias, a double standard that conflates with Product Review Manipulation which is designed to protect against unscrupulous online trading practices.

Please reinstate all reviews for Rings of Powers, so we, the paying public, can read and decide for ourselves if want to "consume" this product.

Thanks.

(edited)

4 Messages

 • 

112 Points

@Giancarlo_Cairella​ Does that  include review bombing with 10/10? No? Oh right....

5 Messages

 • 

98 Points

@Giancarlo_Cairella​ 
I can image chaos around this show at IMDb and Amazon HQ.
There was need to write something so you just wrote bunch of things and told us nothing.

Just a question...

If Amazon owns IMDb isn't it conflict of interest to censor all reviews below 6 regardless of content? And I bet there were some legit reviews there. Clearly this can't be legal?

Here are legit reviews that include 5 star ratings (which is not a bad score) and they are also deleted:
https://web.archive.org/web/20220902111701/https://www.imdb.com/title/tt7631058/reviews?ref_=tt_urv

Champion

 • 

6.3K Messages

 • 

262.5K Points

@Giancarlo_Cairella​ So are you saying that IMDb has so far received no "legitimate" user reviews below 6/10 for "The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power"? Not even one?

1 Message

 • 

118 Points

@Giancarlo_Cairella​ Will you investigate the 10/10 reviews too then?

6 Messages

 • 

124 Points

@Giancarlo_Cairella​ what a lame response to say we don't like the negative feedback so we are taking measures to censor people who give one and leave all the loving 10/10 responses when absolutely no way that show is a 10/10. Yay!! Must save the machine. 

3 Messages

 • 

72 Points

@Giancarlo_Cairella​ misleading the public and deleting reviews etc is called fraud. 

People who rate the show lower than 6 have just as much right to do so as someone rating it a 9. 

My review was honest. I didnt like the show at all. Im not review bombing. 

If you dont want people leaving reviews , you should either turn all reviews off completely. Or allow all of them. Only allowing positive reviews is misleading and dishonest. 

27 Messages

 • 

374 Points

@Giancarlo_Cairella

So basically you’re saying our opinions are not valid; that you consider us bots or trolls because so many of us dislike a show. I grew up with Tolkien. I was a student at Oxford, where Tolkien was once a professor. His books have been at my bedside since I was 12. That this show has nothing to do with Tolkien is a polite understatement.

I left a review on 3rd September. But since it’s STILL pending, here you go - this is more or less what I wrote:

In the spirit of fairness, I watched episodes 1 & 2. But after one & 1/2 hours, I was still only 20 minutes in - deciphering pseudo-intellectual dribble is not easy.

Rings of Power is every generic fantasy ever made, all rolled into one. Think Eternals meets Thor meets Wheel of Time, who trundle off to Worzel Gummidge for a cup of tea and a plate of gore with scones and cream - before cartwheeling or ambling off - it varies from scene to scene, to the next who-knows-why.

The script is a hodge-podge of I-want-to-seem-deep unintelligible nonsense, while the acting is reminiscent of a high school play.

Galadriel is a mean girl training for the Cross Channel Olympics. Durin actor Owain Arthur was fine but Aramayo is no Elrond and Charles Edwards' Celebrimbor is laughable. The Elves are plodding humans with stuck-on pointy ears, Harfoots are depicted as filthy Irish peasants with human feet and fake Irish accents, and a character who everyone suspects will turn out to be Gandalf called The Stranger bombed down to Earth in a ball of fire like Superman arriving from Krypton.

Amazon borrowed on the most read, beloved and acclaimed high fantasy scholarly books ever written, name-dropped characters and places then said, "We know better, here's Marvel meets Disney."

But thank you again for implying that I am a troll. Or a bot. Or just here to 'manipulate perception'.

35 Messages

 • 

570 Points

@Giancarlo_Cairella​ F R A U D

6 Messages

 • 

116 Points

@Giancarlo_Cairella​ Than pause ALL reviews, and temporarily remove ALL existing ones.  Some of us just don't like it and are trying to give it a fair review. If you're removing all the low ones for "review bombing" or something than try removing all the high ones for "astro turfing" as well.

It's an all or nothing, by only doing some you appear corrupt as hell.  

And don't let us forget who is your parent company.  It makes me suspicious as hell.

4 Messages

 • 

94 Points

@Giancarlo_Cairella​ I see the <5/10 reviews are finally being allowed.  You want to tell us straight what happened here?

(edited)

2 Messages

 • 

76 Points

@Giancarlo_Cairella​ You are making the show even more dislikeable. It's like the teacher tells you that you failed an exam, and you know it, but instead of accepting it, you blame him and everybody else for being racist-nazi-hater-trolls. IMDb, is this the way all your reviews work?

6 Messages

 • 

116 Points

@joecho​ Not all of them.  I'm still pending 9 days later.

2.4K Messages

 • 

73.5K Points

@Giancarlo_Cairella​ I think it would be a very good idea if IMDb responded to this thread to explain a bit more what happened with the reviews for this particular title.

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

3 months ago

I say this as someone who has enjoyed the show so far - deleting the negative written reviews of your own program on what is supposed to be a completely user-driven database is abhorrent, slimy, corrupt and has completely tainted my view of the show. This serves a stark reminder that professor Tolkien would have despised Amazon and everything this rotten company represents. IMDb existed long before Amazon and it is not their personal promotional tool. 

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Amazon deleting negative reviews of Rings of Power.

3 Messages

 • 

82 Points

Hear hear. I am disgusted by all the antiwoke hate these days and removing reviews that solely focus on bashing should indeed be removed but not a single review below 6 after 76 reviews submitted? That is plain evil and reminds even of Sovjet era information control.

2 Messages

 • 

84 Points

This is weak Amazon. Show some respect and honor. 

4 Messages

 • 

80 Points

Wrote an honest review for Rings of Power.  Didnt even give it a 1 as I wasnt review bombing it.  I gave it a 4.

On Saturday morning there were near 200 reviews including mine.   As of now there are 74 reviews and there isnt a single review under 5 stars.   

While I'm sure there were some troll bombs...there are just as many 10/10 ratings that are trolls also.

The fact you would be clearing any review under 5 stars is really pathetic.  How much money did Amazon pay you?  Yes, ima ctually pissed over this because I've never in my life had a proper review I made cancelled lol.   It's pretty lame

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Deleting/Hiding Reviews is shameful IMDB

5 Messages

 • 

98 Points

3 months ago

Why is every review from Rings of Power that has score lower than 7 declined and deleted?

This is product score manipulation and it is illegal in my country.

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled CENSORSHIP

10 Messages

 • 

200 Points

Can you prove this?

Deleting review scores would conflate with Product Review Manipulation, a government legislation that protects against unscrupulous online trading practices.

I don't think IMDB would be that stupid, personally.

4 Messages

 • 

94 Points

Yeah, just look up the page, you cant read any reviews from 5stars and down, they just dont exists. They exist in votes, but zero written reviews

4 Messages

 • 

112 Points

3 months ago

I've rated this show a 4 for many good reasons. And they haven't posted that review since Friday. Naturally I checked if any reviews exist below 6 and there are none, they've also made it that there are more 10's than 7's 8's or 9's in a ascending order, extremely shady.  What a joke IMDB... Joke site, not genuine,  very disappointed.

(edited)

6 Messages

 • 

114 Points

3 months ago

Hello

I've used this website for over 15 years for film information, trivia and ratings etc but I'm so gutted that reviews are being doctored. I don't know if this has been happening all the time as generally I find shows that I look up have reviews I feel are respresentative.

Now we know where I'm going with this, Rings of Power has had all it's reviews 5 or below removed and I know there's obviously review bombing happening but it has gone both ways you cannot be telling me 20k (currently) people have rated this 10/10? there's more 10/10 than there are 1/10 (16k currently). If your going to hide the low reviews but leave the high ones what does that say? 

I think IMDB needs to show some integrity (Amazon owned IMDB) and Amazon need to trust that if Rings of Power is as good as they say it is then restore all reviews and the show will speak for itself.  

For context I've only seen the original LOTR trilogy, not read the books and haven't watched The Hobbit films (looked awful).

Kind Regards

An honest IMDB user. 

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Genuine question Rings of Power reviews, integrity and honesty.

6 Messages

 • 

114 Points

3 months ago

I just posted the same question, Amazon own IMDB which is shocking really I didn't know that until recently. 

2 Messages

 • 

76 Points

3 months ago

Hi I think there is a problem with the reviews of rings of power. I can't see the user reviews for 1 tp 5 stars. There might be a glitch can you please look into this and correct.

Regards

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Rings of power reviews

3 Messages

 • 

72 Points

I can confirm this. I personally left a review in this range and it is not showing. 

I would like to know why mine and other reviews are being censored 

Champion

 • 

927 Messages

 • 

48.1K Points

3 months ago

Disappointed...

Having verified for myself that there are indeed no reviews with scores below 6, at this point I would like IMDb to weigh in on this issue.

As a staunch supporter of IMDb (even despite many questionable decisions throughout this time) and a long time contributor, I still want to believe that this is a glitch in the system and am reluctant to think that there is indeed an attempt to manipulate users.

For me that would be crossing an unforgivable red line... and a very sad day, as I could no longer be part of this project that I still look at with the eyes (and purposes...) of more than 20 years ago.

10 Messages

 • 

200 Points

3 months ago

It's a worrying sign of the times that IMDB, one of the most trusted and influential entertainment review sites on the internet, would so brazenly hide negative reviews for a product they do not even own.

That's authoritarianism, the absolute enemy of democracy. Corruption of the highest order. You should be ashamed of yourselves.

Oh, and this is going viral right now. Head over to Twitter and see what people are saying about this disgrace.

2 Messages

 • 

70 Points

3 months ago

Hi, when are you going to show all the Lord of the rings: Rings of power reviews, not just the ones above 6 stars?

regards,

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Rings of power

4 Messages

 • 

112 Points

3 months ago

Why are the ratings 1-5 hidden for this title? I really have little faith the ratings on imdb are real anymore. Sort yourself out.

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Lord of the rings rings of power

Champion

 • 

11.4K Messages

 • 

298.2K Points

A screenshot of what you are seeing would help.

4 Messages

 • 

112 Points

Here you go. You can easily see what I'm saying on the relevant page also...

5 Messages

 • 

182 Points

3 months ago

Seems very dishonest for IMDB to hide reviews for a product it has a financial interest in. I voted 2 stars because i thought it sucked, much like the originals.

I guess this site should be taken with a grain of salt as if they’re openly dishonest about this, it’s likely not an isolated case.

5 Messages

 • 

182 Points

3 months ago

It appears IMDB is manipulating the reviews for their new lord of the rings show. No better way to sink your credibility and turn off people who look to your site as a source.

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Why is IMDb manipulating reviews of a product they have financial interest in?

2 Messages

 • 

72 Points

3 months ago

Hi why can I not view the reviews lower than a 6 on Rings of Power? 

Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation originally titled Review rings of power

10 Messages

 • 

200 Points

3 months ago

@Giancarlo_Cairella​ 

For reference, this my 4-star review for Rings of Power. Tell me, does it meet your standard or is it not positive enough?

This show is an awful presentation of the LoTR Universe on every level. The writing is juvenile at best, acting wooden/pantomime-like, there are no likeable or relatable main characters in the entire show, and many of the scenes seem unrealistic/forced. It has no redeeming qualities whatsoever. I'm shocked and disappointed.

Galadriel: without a shadow of a doubt, the worst casting choice in the show. She's whiny, has a sour demeanour and constantly preaches to everyone around her, a dislikable character in every aspect. She swims entire oceans, rendering the creation of elven boats obsolete in this universe. She can slay a troll completely unaided with a few swishes of her sword, a feat that took the entire fellowship to accomplish in the books and PJ's version. Who wrote this character? Fire them immediately.

Elrond: what in the world is going on with this guy? From what I can gather, you're portraying him as a weak diplomat with no relatable character traits or self-respect, a shadow of his former self (or future self?). Yes, we're talking about the same Elrond that led the free peoples of middle earth against Sauron. One and the same elf. But in this laughing stock of a TV show, he can barely beat his fist on a rock without almost passing out from exhaustion, in stark contrast to Galadriel, who can swim an entire ocean and still have enough energy remaining to slay a troll single-handed. Senseless, contradictory stuff.

Don't even get me started on the hobbits. Pathetic.

This cost Amazon $1 billion to make by all accounts. Really? I cannot describe how disappointed my wife and I are with this show, we waited over a year for this mess. If it doesn't improve markedly over the next 2 or 3 episodes, consider our subscriptions cancelled.