1 Message
•
120 Points
Email notice that my account will be closed.
I received an email stating that since my account hasn't been used in over three years, it will be closed as of May 20th unless I log in again. I have been logged into the Android app under my Amazon credentials for years, and I reference the database on a regular basis. Please let me know what steps to take next.



Accepted Solution
Ozzy
Employee
•
2.9K Messages
•
29.5K Points
2 months ago
Hi Kithkanen,
Thank you for your problem report.
You may have received this email due to having two IMDb accounts. This can be happen when using different methods to sign in to your IMDb account. Based on the information you've provided, it is likely that a previous method to sign in to IMDb created a secondary IMDb account, which has been inactive ever since and will be closed unless you sign-in again to this second account.
To clarify, this will not result in your IMDb account that you use with your Amazon credentials being closed. Your recent activity signing in to IMDb with Amazon will have ensured your IMDb is active.
I hope this helps!
0
lesleyboon
3 Messages
•
80 Points
2 months ago
0
0
movie_man01
8 Messages
•
160 Points
2 months ago
12
Richard_J
44 Messages
•
848 Points
2 months ago
I've just got the same notice "Your IMDb account will be closed soon" from address do-not-reply@imdb.com, on a secondary mail account that I've never used for logging in or for communication with IMDb.
That (quote) "I haven't signed in to IMDb in over three years, and my account shows no activity" is absolute nonsense.
I also don't have another dormant account this might refer to. I used to have a previous account, but I had it completely (?) removed years ago.
Never had any communication from IMDb on this account since.
Yet I now can't even log into my IMDb account, I just get error messages that state "Something went wrong" with the usual yellow balloons quoting 'funny' movie lines.
Not very funny at all, in fact extremely alarming, as some other users already noted!!
The mail looks really authentic on top of that, all with working, recognizable and even verified ('V') links, and the regular IMDb logo.
Screenshot included, with personal details erased.
We really need some explanation what's going on.
Regards,
Richard
(edited)
9
Bettina
9 Messages
•
134 Points
2 months ago
OK, everybody. Here is a detailed explanation from my b.f., the veteran coder. Hope this is helpful? (I had him dictate this!)
had my boyfriend look at this. He has been developing software for 40 years. He said the email was legit. He said it was legit because:
If you looked at the actual address it was sent from, it was sent from IMDB.com. If it had been fraudulent, it would’ve been sent from some weird email, maybe from North Korea, who knows?
On my MacBook, you can tell by clicking the little down arrow to the right of the sender to see the sender’s address.
So, the suspicious thing was the button that it was asking you to click on the original “threatening” email. To find out about the truth to that, you need to get into the Source Code for the email. On MacMail, you can do this by going up to Menu, clicking “View”, then Message, then Raw Source (on the menu fly-out).
From there, you can search for a couple of things. One is the keyword “ref”, and just check what is the URL that follows that keyword. In this case, it was also a genuine IMDB link. The important one is the key word “href”. In HTML, this is a hypertext link. This is usually the link it will take you to if you click the button, or the text in the actual email that is over that href. This was also a link to a legitimate IMDB URL (It was https://www.imdb.com/…) Those are a couple of ways you can decode where a questionable email comes from or might send you.
Happy to report: The original link to my IMDB (not IMDB Pro) is now working, as well as the link to my IMDB Pro. They may have been doing some maintenance.
In other words, all this being said and explored by a seasoned coder, it does NOT appear to be spam.
Thank you all for chiming in and offering help!!!! Hope this helps YOU!
0
Bettina
9 Messages
•
134 Points
2 months ago
I just posted a lllooonnngg explanation that hopefully helps, but am not seeing it here. I'll paste it again.
I had my boyfriend look at this. He has been developing software for 40 years. He said the email was legit. He said it was legit because:
If you looked at the actual address it was sent from, it was sent from IMDB.com. If it had been fraudulent, it would’ve been sent from some weird email, maybe from North Korea, who knows?
On my MacBook, you can tell by clicking the little down arrow to the right of the sender to see the sender’s address.
So, the suspicious thing was the button that it was asking you to click on the original “threatening” email. To find out about the truth to that, you need to get into the Source Code for the email. On MacMail, you can do this by going up to Menu, clicking “View”, then Message, then Raw Source (on the menu fly-out).
From there, you can search for a couple of things. One is the keyword “ref”, and just check what is the URL that follows that keyword. In this case, it was also a genuine IMDB link. The important one is the key word “href”. In HTML, this is a hypertext link. This is usually the link it will take you to if you click the button, or the text in the actual email that is over that href. This was also a link to a legitimate IMDB URL (It was https://www.imdb.com/…) Those are a couple of ways you can decode where a questionable email comes from or might send you.
Happy to report: The original link to my IMDB (not IMDB Pro) is now working, as well as the link to my IMDB Pro. They may have been doing some maintenance.
In other words, all this being said and explored by a seasoned coder, it does NOT appear to be spam.
Thank you all for chiming in and offering help!!!! Hope this helps YOU!
0
CI123
7 Messages
•
240 Points
7 hours ago
Hello,
I recently saw a thread on here where multiple people had the issue of accounts being deactivated after three years. This raised a concern for me as some of us have chosen to use our accounts to claim pages and suppress information (such as alternate names or birth years). Does this mean that, if those accounts are not logged into for three years, they will be deleted, thereby causing unclaimed pages to revert to showing this information again?
I can’t imagine many high profile actors are constantly logging in to their IMDB, but someone like Elliot Page continues to have their alternate names remained suppressed.
I’m worried that if in the future I use IMDB less frequently, that sensitive information about me will be publicly available online again. Is there a way to ensure that those of us who aren’t as high profile, can continue to ensure that some information is permanently suppressed?
Note: This comment was created from a merged conversation Link : https://community-imdb.sprinklr.com/conversations/data-issues-policy-discussions/question-about-account-deactivations/6a29601ead37f8605f20f057 Title : Question about account deactivations0
0