June7teenth's profile

5 Messages

 • 

110 Points

Friday, June 2nd, 2023 9:33 PM

Closed

Solved

Not allowing positive reviews on The Little Mermaid

Why are only negative reviews about The Little Mermaid allowed to post? I actually saw the movie on May 29th and posted a positive review on IMDb. It was declined. I posted another one and that was declined. But I’ve noticed since June 1 people are able to post non constructive comments about the movie based on their own opinions which supposedly isn’t allowed. I think IMDb wants this movie to fail.

8.1K Messages

 • 

172.1K Points

1 year ago

@June7teeth 😀

? ?

Folks that post comments also add Ratings

Fri Jun 2 2023

The Little Mermaid (2023)
700 Reviews
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5971474/reviews? sort by Date

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5971474/ratings

IMDb RATING
7.0/10 | 54K
10 17.8% (9.6K)
  9   5.1% (2.8K)
  8   7.6% (4.1K)
  7   8.1% (4.4K)
  6   4.6% (2.5K)
  5   3.0% (1.6K)
  4   2.3% (1.3K)
  3   3.5% (1.9K)
  2   7.2% (3.9K)
  1  40.8% (22K)
4.6 Unweighted mean

- - -

  

Mon Jun 5 2023
843 Reviews

Unusual activity
Our rating mechanism has detected unusual voting activity on this title.
To preserve the reliability of our rating system,
an alternate weighting calculation has been applied.

IMDb RATING

7.2/10  | 65K

10  17.6% (12K)
  9    5.1% (3.4K)
  8    7.8% (5.1K)
  7    8.3% (5.5K)
  6    4.8% (3.1K)
  5    3.0% (2K)
  4    2.4% (1.6K)
  3    3.6% (2.3K)
  2    7.2% (4.7K)
  1  40.3% (26K)
4.6 Unweighted mean

.

(edited)

5 Messages

 • 

110 Points

1 year ago

  I’m referring to comments. If someone didn’t like the movie that’s fine. I had some issues myself. But I wrote a constructive but positive review which was declined. That’s my issue.

Employee

 • 

4.9K Messages

 • 

52.4K Points

@June7teenth​ Hi!

Can we have your 18-digit submission reference to check on it?

Thanks!

5 Messages

 • 

110 Points

Hi Bethany! Here you are: 1st review-#230530-044811-497404. 2nd review-#240601-160709-112204. Thanks!!

Employee

 • 

16.9K Messages

 • 

307.6K Points

Hi @June7teenth​ -

I was unable to locate any submission that matched the second reference number, however, I can see that the first submission reference was declined.

As I didn't observe any violating content within the submitted review, I encourage you to resubmit again.  Once submitted, promptly post the 18-digit reference number here and I can try to check it directly.

Cheers!

5 Messages

 • 

110 Points

Ok thank you!!

5 Messages

 • 

110 Points

Sorry the 2nd review reference number was #230601-160709-112204.

8.1K Messages

 • 

172.1K Points

1 year ago

JJ33
Friday, June 2nd, 2023 
Closed
Solved
REVIEW BOMBING
Noticed today that IMDB is taking a look at people "review bombing"
the 2023 release of "The Little Mermaid".  

https://community-imdb.sprinklr.com/conversations/data-issues-policy-discussions/review-bombing/647a800bf129272a86e0352a

- - -

Monday Jun 5 2023

Michelle, Employee
Hi @JJ33 -
Our voting system already detects and defeats attempts 
to stuff the ballot and skew the rating, 
as demonstrated by the difference between the weighted average 
and the arithmetic mean on the vast majority of titles in the database.

For additional information about IMDb ratings and weighted averages,
I encourage you to review our FAQ
https://help.imdb.com/article/imdb/track-movies-tv/ratings-faq/G67Y87TFYYP6TWAV

.

(edited)