Skip to main content

1 Message

 • 

230 Points

Sat, Dec 16, 2017 6:40 PM

Issue writing user reviews

I tried to post a positive review of Star Wars: The Last Jedi, especially since only negative (repetitive) reviews have been posted, but I get this message when attempting to do so:

"Blocked by Content Security Policy

This page has a content security policy that prevents it from being loaded in this way.

Firefox prevented this page from loading in this way because the page has a content security policy that disallows it."

So now only extremely negative reviews appear. How do I resolve this problem?

Responses

Official Solution

Employee

 • 

46 Messages

 • 

2.3K Points

3 years ago

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.  Unfortunately, this has been a really hard issue to fix since we are unable to reproduce.  Additionally, we are seeing a significantly higher number of submitted reviews since release, so this issue appears to be a highly localized problem. We believe it is most likely related to individual security settings and/or interactions with ad blockers.  We recently added some fall back logic triggering a new page if we detect potential issues with the in-line form.   Unfortunately, the issue that causes the “black screen” could also limit our ability to log issues if they occur.  If you are still experiencing this issue, please let us know.

If you are, please provide your system/browser combination so we can help track the issue.  Also, to help us test, please go to an image for any movie/TV show and press the “Edit Tags” button.  Do you also see the “black screen”?  Finally, on the Parents Guide page, if you select the "+ add to guide" option does the same thing occur? We have similar technology for these pages, but have never received feedback of any issues.

I appreciate your effort as we attempt to track down the problem.

Thanks
Nic

Official Solution

Employee

 • 

4.1K Messages

 • 

140.1K Points

3 years ago

We have investigated this issue and all causes appear to be related to over-aggressive ad blockers or older unsupported browsers. 

If the problem persists, please follow the steps outlined on https://help.imdb.com/article/imdb/general-information/why-is-imdb-displaying-differently-on-my-brow...

Official Solution

Employee

 • 

4.1K Messages

 • 

140.1K Points

3 years ago

We believe this issue has now been resolved via the migration to https.  

Please let us know if there are any further instances. 

Employee

 • 

4.1K Messages

 • 

140.1K Points

3 years ago

Sorry about this. Please see https://help.imdb.com/article/imdb/general-information/why-is-imdb-displaying-differently-on-my-brow... -- in particular do you have "https everywhere" or an equivalent enabled? 

3 Messages

 • 

102 Points

3 years ago

Hello, I am also experiencing this problem. It is not just for Star Wars. Firefox is not allowing me to write reviews for any films, something that I have previously been able to do. I have disabled adblocker on IMDB and this has not fixed the problem.

Employee

 • 

4.1K Messages

 • 

140.1K Points

Do you have another browser which you can try on the same system so we can isolate this to possibly just Firefox? 

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

3 years ago

I had this problem w/ Firefox.  I could not figure out which security setting to toggle to correct the issue, but there is a work-around.  Just right-click on "Add a Review" and select "Open Link in a New Private Window".  It should open up a new window and work fine.  Hope this helps.

Employee

 • 

4.1K Messages

 • 

140.1K Points

Thanks Ben.  In the meantime we have opened a ticket with the appropriate team to see if we can workaround this Firefox issue or at least better detect and message the solution. 

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

I do not like Edge or Internet explorer, that is why I use Firefox. Is there a way to fix this problem because I have looked and cannot seem to resolve this?

3 Messages

 • 

122 Points

3 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled I cannot edit, post or delete a review.

Since IMDB updated the review page, I have been trying to post, edit, and delete a review on many different titles and a black rectangle comes up on the right part of the screen but nothing shows. I can't edit, post, or delete a review for a title. Can you please help me with this or fix this?

I have tried do a review on my phone but the same thing happens.

3 Messages

 • 

104 Points

3 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled User reviews.

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Why suddenly can't I post reviews of films?.Over the last couple days when I go to write a review of a movie I am unable to. I just get a black window that comes up on the right side of my screen with nowhere to type. Very bizarre as I've been writing reviews for years with no problem. How do I fix this? I tried for several different films with the same result, so it is no film specific.

Note: This conversation was created from a reply on: I cannot edit, post or delete a review.

2 Messages

 • 

82 Points

3 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Firefox.

I have reviewed many films for IMDb, but today was unable to do so and received this message: "Blocked by Content Security Policy

This page has a content security policy that prevents it from being loaded in this way.

Firefox prevented this page from loading in this way because the page has a content security policy that disallows it."

14 Messages

 • 

660 Points

3 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Can't add a user review.

Can't add a user review on Chrome, Windows 10.  Instead of a form for a review, I get a black space I can't write in.