Skip to main content

4 Messages

 • 

212 Points

Mon, Dec 25, 2017 11:24 AM

I can't post/write reviews anymore

For a week or so I've had trouble submitting reviews. I don't know what happened but every time when I click on "Review this title" a black box shows up on the right side of my screen. The only problem is there's nothing in it. I suspect that they changed the whole review-writing process because this is not how I used to write reviews in the past (in the past clicking the link caused a redirect to a dedicated review text editor). Now, I'm open to changes as long as they don't impede the user-experience (which seems to be the case here). 

p.s. disabling my browser extensions (like my ad blocker and Stylish) didn't seem to do diddly-squat. The bug remains.

Responses

Employee

 • 

4.1K Messages

 • 

140K Points

3 years ago

Please can you try another browser, especially if you have been using Firefox until now?

4 Messages

 • 

212 Points

Thanks for the tip Col. It did work in another browser (Epic Browser) but this does make the whole process of writing reviews quite bothersome for me since Chrome is my primary browser (which also happens to be the browser where the bug occurs). 
I wish there was an easier way to resolve this issue but thanks anyway.

p.s. I don't use Firefox anymore. I uninstalled it after the Firefox Quantum update since half of my add-on's stopped working under the new plugin framework.

2 Messages

 • 

132 Points

3 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Why cannot I make any review for a week on IMDb ?.

Why cannot I make any review for a week on IMDb? Just says an error has occurred loading or updating your item. Please try again later? Is there a word count or something I’m missing?

Employee

 • 

4.1K Messages

 • 

140K Points

3 years ago

Thanks for the details here.  We have opened a ticket with the appropriate team. 

7 Messages

 • 

620 Points

3 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled User reviews.

Just tried to write a review - I've done a few in the new format, not a fan.  Anyways, I was bouncing between two browsers (not windows, but actual different browsers) as I do, and when I came back to chrome, the review pane was gone.  OK, so then I hit the review button again, & IMDB brings me to the sign in page!  Obviously all the work I had done on the review is gone - did save my score ranking.  So frustrating, it was one of those reviews I was really into - I've made every mistake there is to make with losing writing on a computer. I understand that the second attempt is generally better for obvious reasons.  But clearly, in the new format you have to manually copy your words every now and then just in case - I've been doing that right at the end (anyway), to paste into text software to re-read for errors, then copy and paste it back - that is my new preview.   Speaking of which, without auto-previewing, there are going to be a lot of disaster, error filled reviews surfacing.

Note: This conversation was created from a reply on: Updates to User Reviews.

3 Messages

 • 

112 Points

3 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled When I try to review a film/TV series I get a black pop-up screen with nothing on....

Can't post reviews

4 Messages

 • 

172 Points

3 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Are we still not able to write reviews and rate movies? I tried writing one but n....

Reviews

Employee

 • 

4.1K Messages

 • 

140K Points

Please can you let us know which web browser you are using? Also please can you try another browser and see what happens?

3 Messages

 • 

112 Points

Chrome, which is what I have been using for years.

4 Messages

 • 

172 Points

Firefox which is what I’ve always used to post reviews.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

3 years ago

Im having the same issue!! When i hit review a black rectangle appears on the right side of my screen....that's it! 

Employee

 • 

4.1K Messages

 • 

140K Points

Sorry to hear.  Which browser are you using and please can you try another one and see if the problem persists?

2 Messages

 • 

102 Points

3 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Whenever I try to write a review on IMDb, only a black window appears on the righ....

4 Messages

 • 

212 Points

Yes, it looks exactly like that....
which confirms my suspicion that this is a widespread bug.
Right now I have no other choice than to post my movie reviews on Medium.com.
...until the bug gets resolved.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

i CANT write a review either i have same as above, its so annoying. 

2 Messages

 • 

82 Points

3 years ago

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled the review screen is black it wont let me wright a review.

Black review screen

Employee

 • 

4.1K Messages

 • 

140K Points

3 years ago

We have investigated this issue and all causes appear to be related to over-aggressive ad blockers / security settings or older unsupported browsers. 

If the problem persists, please follow the steps outlined on https://help.imdb.com/article/imdb/general-information/why-is-imdb-displaying-differently-on-my-brow...

3 Messages

 • 

120 Points

All my browser addons are disabled and my Chrome updated yesterday. I even tried to install a completely different fresh browser, and I still only see an empty black rectangle on the right side of the screen with a close button, and a transparent overlay the rest of the page. 

3 Messages

 • 

120 Points

Also you say "older unsupported browsers" might be an issue too. Funny, my still trident based ancient Internet Explorer that installed with Windows 8.1 has no issue displaying the overlay correctly. So this "investigation" of yours doesn't seem very reliable.

Employee

 • 

4.1K Messages

 • 

140K Points

Please can you confirm whether you are already signed-in when you hit the "+ Add Review" link? A later problem report may indicate this has something to do with the sign-in process. 

3 Messages

 • 

120 Points

I have the dropdown menu with my own name always present in the header of the IMDB page, I regularly check "Your Activity" and it shows everything I've done on the site, so I would assume that yes, I am already signed in (as in always remain signed in), yet I can't write reviews in Chrome with neither of my addons enabled.

Since you've said a later problem report might indicate a problem with the sign-in process, I deleted all the persistent IMDB cookies, then signed in again, and it suddenly works. So the problem appears to have been persistent cookies that have had users remain logged in since before the change of the review process to the new overlay style.

Employee

 • 

4.1K Messages

 • 

140K Points

Thanks for testing this.  It is truly weird but gives us something with which to work.