Vande's profile

209 Messages

 • 

4.1K Points

Saturday, December 9th, 2023 3:37 PM

Solved

How are so many people getting round the minimum word count for reviews?

I assumed the minimum character count for reviews had been abandoned, as I see so many reviews on here which are just one sentence.
But I just tested by starting to write one, and it is still telling me I have to add 600 characters.
So why, when seeing what others have said about a TV series or film, do I have to plough through so many very short reviews?
It is really tedious.
An example from a show I'm watching:


"Dont waste your time. Terrible acting and just gets worse."

Yes okay, that's two short sentences, but we might as well all write reviews for every single thing we watch if that is acceptable.

7.8K Messages

 • 

168.8K Points

3 months ago

@Vande 😀

??

Post some samples with Links & Dates

Marco
Saturday, January 27th, 2018
Make sure reviews are reviews again (minimum of 50 words instead of 50 characters)
https://community-imdb.sprinklr.com/conversations/data-issues-policy-discussions/make-sure-reviews-are-reviews-again-minimum-of-50-words-instead-of-50-characters/5f4a7b3e8815453dbacfe95a

- - -

cris
Friday, January 20th, 2023
Reduce the minimum size for IMDb user reviews
Please remove the required characters of 600 from the review function. 
https://community-imdb.sprinklr.com/conversations/data-issues-policy-discussions/reduce-the-minimum-size-for-imdb-user-reviews/63caee1c6bcb48295247b565

.

209 Messages

 • 

4.1K Points

@ACT_1​ I haven't memorised any as it happens so often, but there are several on this title:  https://www.imdb.com/title/tt13234384/reviews/

Employee

 • 

6.5K Messages

 • 

169.5K Points

@Vande​ The short ones were all submitted while the limit was 50 characters during the dates referenced in the posts above by @ACT_1 

Hope this helps. 

209 Messages

 • 

4.1K Points

@Col_Needham​ ah okay, so these brief remarks are back to not being allowed again now then?  That's good, otherwise I was just going to start adding a short sentence to the around 50 shows I watch a week, if that's what's deemed acceptable.

Reviews should only ever be written by people who have something worthwhile to say about something, as they are there to help other decide.  "Dis is crapp, urge u notta wotch it" is not that.  For me the example I gave above is no more useful than that.  Not everybody can make a sandwich or boil an egg, but the entire world's population is capable of writing a "review".

Employee

 • 

1.6K Messages

 • 

16.2K Points

Hello Vande, 

Correct, this kind of reviews are no longer allowed. The minimum length for reviews is 600 characters to ensure the most value to our users.

You can take a look at our User Reviews guidelines for more details.

2.7K Messages

 • 

81.1K Points

@Vande​ "so these brief remarks are back to not being allowed again now then?"

Well, as has been stated by IMDb, the brief remarks that are already live, actually are still allowed (even though they go against the guide), so one could say that brief remarks are allowed as well as not allowed because they, apparently, both ensure a lot of value for the customers of IMDb.

7.8K Messages

 • 

168.8K Points

@Vande​ 😀

I haven't memorised any as it happens so often, 
but there are several on this title: 
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt13234384/reviews/

- - -

Samples:


Intruder (2021-2021)
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt13234384/reference/

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt13234384/reviews/ - 85 Reviews


Comical acting and an abysmal storyline.
TheGeordiePedro
6 April 2021
Terrible acting, unremarkable characters 
and a storyline that has as much grip 
as a well varnished laminate floor. 
Channel 5's The Intruder is truly unwatchable television.
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw6787348/

- - -
  
Awfully Bad
tonybuck-47737
6 April 2021
This had potential, It didn't deliver .
Save yourself sometime ,Give it a miss ,I wish I did !!!
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw6787399/

- - -
  
Please don't bother... yaaaaawn
pqvx
6 April 2021
I can't improve on the other reviws, just add my weight to them.
If you've seen "The Drowning", well, it's as bad as that.
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw6787559/

- - -

  

Poor
dianelilley
7 April 2021
Very. Very disappointed !! 
For goodness sake i would rather watch a test screen from the 70 s.
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw6788021/

- - -

  

Not as bad as a lot of the reviews suggest
earlcook
22 December 2021
I rather enjoyed it ,
glad I didn't take the low reviews seriously , engaging .. 
a few twists an enjoyable British drama I've seen better
but its not the lemon others are suggesting.
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw7669965/

.

10.5K Messages

 • 

223.3K Points

LOL @ "Dis is crapp, urge u notta wotch it"