Z

7 Messages

 • 

180 Points

Wed, Jun 9, 2021 2:19 PM

If an account is deleted and…

it’s decided at a later date to return, will the old credits link and appear on the new account or will each one have to be resubmitted? 

Responses

Accepted Solution

7 Messages

 • 

180 Points

5 d ago

@Taylor I understand that the info wouldn’t be deleted from the project pages but if the name page is deleted and then possibly re-registered months or years later, can you tell me if the information that was once on the deleted name page appear once that name page is re-registered or will that info have to be manually connected as it was originally when the name page was initially created?  This is the crux of my inquiry. Thank you. 

Employee

 • 

1.7K Messages

 • 

33.3K Points

@Zjacob As long as the credit on the title/project page exists, a corresponding name page would also exist. If all credits are removed, then the name page will be removed.

Employee

 • 

1.7K Messages

 • 

33.3K Points

11 d ago

Hi @Zjacob

For details on what happens when an IMDbPro membership expires, please see our help article: What happens when I cancel my IMDbPro membership?

7 Messages

 • 

180 Points

@Taylor Thank  you for the link. It was informative. But, I was asking specifically about deleting an account as opposed to canceling a membership. 

(edited)

Employee

 • 

1.7K Messages

 • 

33.3K Points

Hi @Zjacob

In regards to specifically deleting an IMDb account, see: How can I delete my IMDb account?

Once the account has been deleted all of the associated ratingslists and user reviews will be removed from IMDb - any other factual data submissions (such as filmography credits) submitted by the account will be retained

 

7 Messages

 • 

180 Points

@Taylor understood. What happens if at a later date, I decide to return? Would the data that’s been retained automatically relink or would I have to go back and re-edit my personal page and re-connect to each individual credit?

Employee

 • 

1.7K Messages

 • 

33.3K Points

It may be helpful to understand the difference between an IMDb page and IMDb user account. You'll find that the IMDb account is not directly 'linked' to a name page with filmography credits - unless it is claimed (and therefore linked) with an IMDbPro membership. 

 

Can you help clarify what your intention of deleting your IMDb account is?

7 Messages

 • 

180 Points

10 d ago

@Taylor  I just wanted clarification on what happens if the imdb pro page is deleted. And, then, in turn what needs to be done (if anything) should you decide to rebuild that page. 

(edited)

7 Messages

 • 

180 Points

5 d ago

what happens if the basic imdb page is deleted? will the pro page be deleted as well? And, then, in turn what needs to be done (if anything) should you decide to rebuild that page?

Employee

 • 

1.7K Messages

 • 

33.3K Points

@Zjacob 

If you are referring to deleting a name page, where any credits you may have (e.g., in film or television) are listed - it is our policy not to alter or delete any kind of correct/factual information.

A name should only be removed/deleted from IMDb if it is obviously incorrect (i.e. the name of a film or company)