paul_kydd's profile

6 Messages

 • 

190 Points

Sat, Jan 27, 2018 12:59 PM

Where's my review?

I tried to post a short review for "Seven Brides for Seven Brothers" a few days ago, and it is still "pending" - normally reviews are posted quickly for me.  There should be nothing that should prevent it from going up.  I have since tried to post the same review, and have been "declined" three times for my contribution appearing to be a duplicate of existing data listed on IMDb.  However, my original review is not listed anywhere - I have looked for it numerous times.  What's going on??

80 Messages

 • 

4.7K Points

Hace 4 año

It is the same with me too. I have four reviews still pending, two from yesterday, one from the day before and the other the day before that.  Like you a vast majority of the rest of my reviews (being a prolific reviewer) since the change of layout, have been approved very quickly. Straight away even for most. I have queried about this already to the help desk. Their quite helpful answer, which was reasonably quick, said that the submissions had not yet had time to be processed after needing to be checked by staff first (which from the sounds of it has not yet been done). They also said that the amount of time it takes can vary, judging from the data contributions page link they provided it is clear that the amount of submissions they get every day is a lot and we're talking about user reviews alone.

I totally see where you're coming from. With the "pending reviews" section gone, which is one the things that needs to come back, there is no way of telling whether the review has been pending or been rejected. Sometimes I get paranoid as to whether I submitted it at all. Just to say too that it happened with me twice before since the new review layout was enforced. One over the Christmas break which I found out was due to under-staffing and that things are slower over the festive season, which was understandable. And the other was that the review had been approved but somehow was not showing on my account page and it was implied there was some kind of bug problem. It is very frustrating and unnerving for me when this problem happens, it very rarely happened for me with the old review layout (plus there was actually a way of seeing whether the review was still pending or been rejected) whereas it's happened three times in this month alone. The very few times it happened with the old layout in my early years of using this site tended to be with longer reviews with spoilers, for a few years now my reviews are still long but I am careful not to use spoilers.


Hope this helps and good luck.

Employee

 • 

4.7K Messages

 • 

148.3K Points

I totally see where you're coming from. With the "pending reviews" section gone, which is one the things that needs to come back, there is no way of telling whether the review has been pending or been rejected.
Yes, this should still be supported. To check on a review's processing status, please click on the link provided in the email receipt you should receive after each review submission.  

6 Messages

 • 

190 Points

Thanks for your reply, Bethany - very useful to know.  I'm perhaps being just a bit too impatient.  But I have since uploaded another review (a longer, more detailed one), which was approved straightaway, so obviously the length of time for approval can vary depending on various factors.

5.7K Messages

 • 

149K Points

Hace 4 año

I tried to post a short review for "Seven Brides for Seven Brothers"
a few days ago, and it is still "pending"
normally reviews are posted quickly for me.
by Paul Kydd
Joined on January 27, 2018
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/paul_kydd
- - -

I would like to read it

Which 7B47B ?

http://www.imdb.com/find?q=Seven%20Brides%20for%20Seven%20Brothers&s=tt&exact=true
Displaying 4 results for "Seven Brides for Seven Brothers"

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers  (1954)
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0047472/reference
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0047472/reviews
146 Reviews Ordered By: Helpfulness

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers  (1982-1983)
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0083476/reference
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0083476/reviews
4 Reviews Ordered By: Helpfulness

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers  (2014)
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt4067138/reference
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt4067138/reviews
0 Reviews Ordered By: Helpfulness

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers  (2008)
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1246084/reference
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1246084/reviews
0 Reviews Ordered By: Helpfulness
- - -

This you ?

Paul Kydd
IMDb member since June 2000
IMDb Member 17 years
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur0768297/
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur0768297/reviews
3 Reviews Ordered By: Date
- Aliens (1986) : 1,143 Reviews Ordered By Helpfulness
- The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert (1994) : 140 Reviews
- Hero (1992) : 70 Reviews

6 Messages

 • 

190 Points

It's the 1954 film version.  And altough that Paul Kydd is me, I think that profile is (or should be) obsolete.  When I began again to post reviews, I had to set up another account, from a different email address, so the account I am talking about is paulrkydd (I couldn't use Paul Kydd again, as it was taken by another user - i.e. me! lol), and I have been an IMDb member under this name since October 2005.  Thank you.

5.7K Messages

 • 

149K Points

... so the account I am talking about is paulrkydd
(I couldn't use Paul Kydd again,
as it was taken by another user - i.e. me! lol),
by Paul Kydd
- - -

May be easier for Us to find your review for "Seven Brides for Seven Brothers"
on your Profile page than looking for it thru 146 Reviews Ordered By: Helpfulness

add a link to paulrkydd on Paul Kydd
add a link to Paul Kydd on paulrkydd
- - -

paulrkydd ??

http://www.google.com/search?q=site:IMDb.com+paulrkydd
IMDb: Films - lists by paulrkydd

9 results (0.33 seconds) 
The requested URL was not found on our server
- - -

Name already used ?
IMDb adds a random number to the newer name

paul-23459 - Sat Oct 17 2015  http://www.imdb.com/user/ur63239000/
paul-36411 - Wed Jan 27 2016  http://www.imdb.com/user/ur65156750/
paul-03668 - Thu Nov 17 2016  http://www.imdb.com/user/ur69780900/
paul-00523 - Sat Oct 14 2017  http://www.imdb.com/user/ur81315555/

EDIT

That changed after your new account October 2005 ?

by - IMDb Help Desk
 28 Sep 2009 10:59:19 AM
 Hello Thanks for your message.
 If a nickname is already taken,
 the IMDb userreg system now picks a nickname for the user,
 using their desired nickname and a specially generated number.
 That is why you are suddenly seeing a lot of new users
 with strange looking numbers in their IMDb nicknames.
 Many thanks Regards, Alex The IMDb Help Desk

6 Messages

 • 

190 Points

There wouldn't be any point looking through the 146 reviews anyway, because mine is not there - that's the whole problem.  It seems to have not been posted and remains "pending" (since last Thursday).  My profile is paulrkydd http://www.imdb.com/user/ur7549188/  I can try to post the review again, if you can't find it anywhere...?

5.7K Messages

 • 

149K Points

It seems to have not been posted and remains "pending" (since last Thursday).
My profile is paulrkydd

 http://www.imdb.com/user/ur7549188/ 
I can try to post the review again, if you can't find it anywhere...?
by Paul Kydd
- - -

Looking today: Jan 29 2018
No short review for "Seven Brides for Seven Brothers"

Need to change title to "A Seven Brides for Seven Brothers" ??


paulrkydd
IMDb member since October 2005
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur7549188/
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur7549188/reviews
38 Reviews Ordered By: Date

Alice (aka Neco z Alenky) ***1⁄2 (7/10)
27 January 2018

Alexander ***1⁄2 (7/10)
27 January 2018

Aladdin ***1⁄2 (7/10)
25 January 2018

Assassin's Creed **1⁄2 (5/10)
23 January 2018

Airport **** (8/10)
23 January 2018

Airplane! **** (8/10)
20 January 2018

Air Force One ***1⁄2 (7/10)
19 January 2018

AI: Artificial Intelligence ***1⁄2 (7/10)
18 January 2018

Age of Heroes ***1⁄2 (7/10)
17 January 2018

The Age of Adaline **** (8/10)
15 January 2018


5.7K Messages

 • 

149K Points

Tue Jan 30 2018

paulrkydd
IMDb member since October 2005
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur7549188/
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur7549188/reviews
39 Reviews Ordered By: Date

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers (1954)
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0047472/
Seven Brides for Seven Brothers *** (6/10)
25 January 2018

USA 1954 English (Colour); Musical (Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer); 102 minutes (U certificate)
Crew includes: Stanley Donen (Director); Albert Hackett, Frances Goodrich, Dorothy Kingsley (Screenwriters, adapting Short Story "The Sobbin' Women" by Stephen Vincent Benét); Jack Cummings (Producer)

Cast includes: Jane Powell, Howard Keel, Jeff Richards, Russ Tamblyn, Tommy Rall, Howard Petrie, Virginia Gibson, Ian Wolfe

Academy Award: Scoring of a Musical; Golden Globe Award: Most Promising Newcomer (Richards)

After the eldest (Keel) brings home a wife (Powell), his six bedraggled brothers aim to get themselves similarly hard-working and attractive brides by means of a mass kidnapping.

Made in the 1950s, set in the 1850s and unsurprisingly sexist (women treated as objects and/or possessions of their menfolk), with some fine singing and acrobatic dancing.

0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Yes No | Report this


Seven Brides for Seven Brothers  (1954) 
User Reviews
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0047472/
147 Reviews Ordered By: Helpfulness

Not here ??


Employee

 • 

4.7K Messages

 • 

148.3K Points

Hace 4 año

Please see https://help.imdb.com/article/contribution/contribution-information/when-will-my-update-be-added/GEK... (and our answer above, reviews are eligible for the "Track Contribution" feature via the email receipt). 

6 Messages

 • 

190 Points

Thank you for this.  As I have commented elsewhere, I am perhaps being just a bit too impatient, but given that generally my reviews have been approved within a few hours, I was anxious that one I wrote 3 days or so ago was still "pending" and perhaps had slipped through some cracks.  I'll wait, then, for a few more days for it (hopefully!) to appear.  Thanks again.

4.8K Messages

 • 

134.2K Points

Hace 4 año

Same problem for me with a White Ribbon review (3 days now), not that it often happens, but the most frustrating thing about it is you don't even know what the problem is, so you can fix it.

6 Messages

 • 

190 Points

Hace 4 año

First time this has happened to me, so I'm not complaining.  I just hoped I hadn't done anything wrong.  Hopefully my review will appear within the next few days.  Thanks again.

4 Messages

 • 

470 Points

Hace 4 año

I had the same question.  Some reviews get posted seconds after you submit them while others are taking days. 

4 Messages

 • 

104 Points

Hace 4 año

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Why are my reviews being delayed.

I have reviewed several hundred films and now the last 3 that I did are not posted.

5.7K Messages

 • 

149K Points

People who reviews after me and yet mine have not been approved.  After over 400 reviews
by Stan Heck
Joined on January 28, 2018
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/stan_heck
- - -

? ?

https://www.google.com/search?q=site:IMDb.com+"Stan+Heck" 

https://www.google.com/search?q=site%3AIMDb.com+%22StanHeck%22


stanheck-94948
IMDb member since June 2017
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur77671931/
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur77671931/ratings - 191 titles
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur77671931/reviews - 1 Review Ordered By: Date
- - -

? ?

A Very Merry Mix-Up Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt3131456/reviews
Alicia Witt Shines 10/10.
Author: stanheck-80269 on 23 June 2017.

Alicia Witt Shines
Author: I-Love-The-Holidayz on 23 June 2017 (Name change ?)
I-Love-The-Holidayz
IMDb member since June 2017
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur77631966/
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur77631966/reviews - 1 Review Ordered By: Date


332 Messages

 • 

12.9K Points

Hace 4 año

seems to be a general issue, I have some open too with estimated processing date being stated is yesterday (27/1/2018)

57 Messages

 • 

1K Points

Hace 4 año

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled 3 Days And User Reviews Sill Wont Post.

I was told it takes up to 24 hours to post a review but its been three days and I noticed other people who reviewed the same titles are getting their reviews posted.

4 Messages

 • 

104 Points

Hace 4 año

Me too.  People who reviews after me and yet mine have not been approved.  After over 400 reviews I have never had this long of a waiting time. 

57 Messages

 • 

1K Points

I really hope we get a real answer, and not just "check your receipt".

36 Messages

 • 

720 Points

Hace 4 año

There certainly is a problem at IMDB about posting of reviews in the last few days. I have several pending.

42 Messages

 • 

1.4K Points

Hace 4 año

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Review is still on pending list...

Around two days ago, I reviewed six movies (Downsizing, Call Me By Your Name, The Shape Of Water, The Disaster Artist, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri and I,Tonya) and an episode of a sitcom The Office (the American version) and I still can't see them on my reviews list. At first, the mail; that I do get after I submit a review, arrived late than usual and then all the reviews that I have submitted (after Saturday, perhaps) has not yet been displayed. So I am worried that is there an issue in my profile or my reviews or what? 

57 Messages

 • 

1K Points

Sorry but this seems to be a wide issue, and I have yet to hear from any mods. I have 3 movies pending

Employee

 • 

4.7K Messages

 • 

148.3K Points

Please see my reply from yesterday :-)

57 Messages

 • 

1K Points

I did, and as many others have said, it is well beyond the date it says the contribution will be added, mines about 2 days late.

Employee

 • 

4.7K Messages

 • 

148.3K Points

Was the review submitted on or after 25 January? If so, it is most likely to still be pending (which you can confirm via the track contribution in the email receipt).  Please see https://contribute.imdb.com/times

User Reviews | Platinum | 25 January 2018 | 1,584

57 Messages

 • 

1K Points

So if I'm not a platinum member I have to wait 5 days? That sucks, its never taken that long, usually it takes under an hour for it to post, so thats why I'm confused.

Email says processing date is the 27th. 

Employee

 • 

4.7K Messages

 • 

148.3K Points

Please read the page at https://contribute.imdb.com/times

We process large quantities of valuable data which is submitted by you, our contributors. While all submissions are important, to ensure we display the highest profile data for the most popular content as quickly as possible, we prioritize contributions based on the type of content submitted.
where the word "prioritize" links to https://contribute.imdb.com/times#prioritization which explains the normal service levels, hence "platinum" (it has nothing to do with any kind of membership scheme).

57 Messages

 • 

1K Points

Still doesn't explain why others on the same item who posted after me get theirs through first, but thanks for the help. I see that the more popular the item is, the quicker it gets posted.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

Hace 4 año

Okay, well, now I don't feel so bad. My review for Star Trek: Discovery was supposed to post a mere day ago. Seems there are lots of folks here who've been waiting even longer. I have to assume this is a by-product of the site's redesign, since, as has been noted, reviews used to post within a matter of hours.

57 Messages

 • 

1K Points

Hace 4 año

Seriously starting to piss me off. Reviews written after mine are being posted on the same item.

80 Messages

 • 

4.7K Points

I'm feeling the same too, I have also seen reviews for different films since the 25th-26th, the period where my pending reviews stem, when I was thinking there was a review temporary backlog so I was thinking there wouldn't be any reviews being approved.

57 Messages

 • 

1K Points

I guess the site is being re-done, so I guess thats the problem, doesn't make sense to me but oh well.

2 Messages

 • 

76 Points

Hace 4 año

Same thing has happened to me. My review of Phantom Thread was said, in my email, to be posted by January 28th 2018. It is now the 29th. Still no review. Same thing is happening with me review of The Kid. I'm a bit concerned.

42 Messages

 • 

1.4K Points

I too was concerned at first but don't worry we all are in the same boat, hang in there.