karen_'s profile
Employee

Employee

 • 

73 Messages

 • 

5.7K Points

Mon, Dec 11, 2017 5:42 PM

Updates to User Reviews

Today we are announcing changes to User Reviews as part of the broader site update announcement (https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/upcoming-changes-to-several-imdb-features-du6man1opd5q0). After in-depth discussion and examination, we have decided to simplify the features and functionality for reviews as follows:

  • “Your Reviews” are now ordered by Date and reviews on each Title sub page are ordered by Helpfulness.We will continue to update functionality in the new year, starting by bringing back the ability to sort reviews from newest to oldest/oldest to newest. We appreciate your patience as we continue to improve the overall experience.
  • We have removed the Index view. 
  • We updated the way that reviews with spoilers are displayed.
Additionally, on our iOS and Android apps, you can now browse all reviews for a movie or show, as well as see which reviews were voted most helpful. In the next few days we’ll be updating the Review contribution experience, which will be the foundation to enabling mobile users to write and post reviews in the near future. For more information about Reviews, see the IMDbHelp Center.

Karen

Responses

3 Messages

 • 

114 Points

4 y ago

I see the ability to sort reviews from newest to oldest/oldest to newest is back again for user reviews. A BIG thank you for that!

14 Messages

 • 

506 Points

A fine addition, but I still would like the alphabetical list of titles (without the text) linked to the reviews. In this way, we can find each text very fast.

4 Messages

 • 

1.9K Points

I tried to find one of my reviews today but couldn't.  I am still hoping the prolific authors tab comes back, as well as an alphabetical list without the text.

Employee

 • 

73 Messages

 • 

5.7K Points

4 y ago

Hi @Sparse. You can change the public/private setting that controls whether ratings are shown for your reviews from this page: https://www.imdb.com/preferences/reviews  Note that changing the setting will impact all of your reviews (ratings will show for all of them or will not show for all of them--you can't set this per-review).

As for multiple reviews, currently you can write multiple for a single title. The 2nd won't delete the 1st. 

319 Messages

 • 

7.1K Points

I thought I read somewhere that we weren't supposed to write more than one per title. Maybe I was wrong, but hopefully an edit feature is in the works, just in case.

I've now run into a bug preventing me from accessing my preferences, but I'll investigate and start a new thread if no one has brought it up yet.

44 Messages

 • 

1.6K Points

Hm, it used to be you were only allowed one review per user per title, any new review would delete the old. I've noticed people have been taking advantage of this to write multiple verbatim dupe reviews. I always report those.

Employee

 • 

73 Messages

 • 

5.7K Points

Hi again @Sparse -- curious -- what bug are you running into around preferences?

17 Messages

 • 

540 Points

As I have written several thousand reviews, sometimes you need IMDB to tell you that you have already reviewed a title. A nice safety function.

44 Messages

 • 

1.6K Points

Agreed, and with no index function or alphabetical sort, or even mechanism to warn you that you are making a duplicate review, it is very difficult, I have over 700 myself, and it used to be if we were writing a duplicate there would be a huge red flag warning that we would get. now, it lets us even DO it, so that we could possibly have two, three, even for different reviews per item. We should be allowed one review and one review only . Lately when I am entering new reviews I see several duplicates by the same person so I just report them all. And I also noticed that my reports queue up to those reviews for deletion. I don't know what reviewing tools the moderators have over there but judging from the lack of any proper indexing or sorting functions, that site maintenance would be difficult as well. The reviewing section is a huge mess right now, and trolls are taking advantage of this to SPAMbomb certain shows that they like to target.

15 Messages

 • 

824 Points

4 y ago

When will you be reinstating the ability to list a person's reviews in index view, alphabetically or in date order?

44 Messages

 • 

1.6K Points

I am at an impasse with my own reviews until this is given back to us. I routinely go all of my reviews and clean them up or edit them on a weekly basis, or I used to, I have not been able to do this ever since alphabetical Index view has been removed. And I am loathe to review any older items for the fear that I may have already reviewed them and there is no system right now to tell us whether or not we are making duplicate reviews.

Employee

 • 

73 Messages

 • 

5.7K Points

We will bring alphabetical back soon. I'll announce as soon as it's available.

15 Messages

 • 

824 Points

Will there be an A-Z menu so that the user can click to a desired letter? I don't want to have to scroll through all of my reviews to get to the letter Z.

12 Messages

 • 

404 Points

4 y ago

Please restore the ability to create a permalink to each of my reviews posted. All of the permalinks to my reviews posted over the years are DEAD now. I simply cannot continue using IMDb and posting reviews here if it's impossible to link back to reviews (mine or other people's) individually. This is essential functionality (see Amazon reviews for a comparison). Thank you for your help.

1 Message

 • 

60 Points

3 y ago

To whom it may concern,

I am not much of a user of IMDB but recently I read a fascinating story about a short film that was released about a month after the Titanic sank and features an actual survivor of the tragedy.  This short seems to be widely considered as lost as the studio that produced it burned down a couple years after producing it.  I see one of the users who reviewed the movie mentioned that their copy was in "seriously" bad condition.  I would love to contact this user to see if they actually have a copy of this lost film.  From this forum it seems as if private messaging is no longer a thing, but is there any way that this review or reviewer can be authenticated, as they would be the only known person with a copy of the short film?

 Thanks

12 Messages

 • 

404 Points

3 y ago

Please restore the permalinks to our individual reviews posted over the years. All the permalinks to our individual reviews from previous years are dead now. This is essential functionality. I have also created a separate request for this: https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/restore-permalinks-to-our-individual-reviews

14 Messages

 • 

506 Points

3 y ago

I had not received any update of new comments. Is IMDb going to reintroduce the index of our reviews? I check every now and then, perhaps weekly, but it's still the same endless, alphabetical continuum of the review texts, not simply the titles. If I want to find one review, now it takes me ages, or I just simple give up...

15 Messages

 • 

824 Points

3 y ago

I also check regularly in the hope of finding that index view has returned. PLEASE DO THIS, IMDB!!!!!

4 Messages

 • 

470 Points

3 y ago

I'm also curious if an easier way is coming back to find reviews.  I'm trying to make copies of my reviews in case they eventually go away here so I'm going through the "load more" but it is VERY slow and I'm just at 100 of 16,000+ so I can only imagine it getting much worse as I go further along.  Anyone know a better way?

5K Messages

 • 

142.1K Points

I'm trying to make copies of my reviews in case they eventually go away here
so I'm going through the "load more" but it is VERY slow
by Michael Elliott
Joined on December 12, 2017
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/michael_elliott_9fdrv5i88v7ua
- - -

Save them in Notepad before you add them here ?
- - -

Col Needham, Official Rep
Jan 10 2018
•Fix “Load more” functionality on Internet Explorer [DONE]
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/update-to-user-reviews?topic-reply-list[settings][filter_by]...
- - -

There is more chat about “Load more” in this thread (Search for it?)
- - -

a few others with many Reviews to save (?)

bob the moo
IMDb member since Feb 2001
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur1002035/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur1002035/reviews  - 8,844 Reviews

bob the moo
Joined on December 21, 2012
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/people/bobthemoo

claudio_carvalho
IMDb member since June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2488512/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2488512/reviews - 8,527 Reviews

Horst_In_Translation
IMDb member since September 2004
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur3914439/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur3914439/reviews - 8,518 Reviews

SnoopyStyle
IMDb member since December 2003
http://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2898520/reviews - 9,991 Reviews

TheLittleSongbird
IMDb member since January 2009
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur20552756/reviews - 14,010 Reviews

bkoganbing
IMDb member since June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2483625/reviews - 14,663 Reviews

Michael_Elliott
IMDb member since November 2006
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur13134536/reviews - 16,175 Reviews

MartinHafer
IMDb member since June 2003
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur2467618/reviews - 21,970 Reviews



4 Messages

 • 

470 Points

Yes, I'm doing that going forward but there are still thousands of reviews that I have posted here that I need to copy down.  Going through the "load more" process just isn't a very easy task.  The Index and expanded mode would have been much more help since I could just copy and past them that way.

5K Messages

 • 

142.1K Points

@ Michael Elliott

There is chat in here about replacing "Load More"  with Page numbers
That would make it easier to return another day to continue saving your reviews
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/discussion-on-posting-ideas

like
https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/discussion-on-posting-ideas?topic-reply-list[settings][filte...


https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/discussion-on-posting-ideas?topic-reply-list[settings][filte...


You want to start a new "Change [Load More] to Page Numbers" topic ?


17 Messages

 • 

540 Points

I am having the same issues. Those of us who have written several thousands of reviews, the load more function is useless.

the redesign had in mind someone who might have written a few hundred reviews at the most.

5K Messages

 • 

142.1K Points

Prismark10                         
I am having the same issues.
Those of us who have written several thousands of reviews, the load more function is useless.

? ?

Prismark10
IMDb member since January 2005
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4569900/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur4569900/reviews - 3,871 Reviews

3 Messages

 • 

120 Points

3 y ago

What happened to being able to leave reviews using the imdb app?? I see that in the original post, written more than 7 months ago, leaving reviews in the app was listed as one of the additions to be made, yet it never was... nor was it mentioned again. Honestly, this is something that should have already been available LONG ago, it's kind of absurd that it isn't. How is this justified over at the imdb offices?

Employee

 • 

73 Messages

 • 

5.7K Points

Hi M v@  You can now write reviews from both IMDb mobile apps (iOS and Android)

222 Messages

 • 

9.3K Points

3 y ago

Does IMDb replace words in reviews?  I read that reviews "may be edited to conform to the guidelines," but I've never noticed or suspected this before now in my posting of 500+ reviews over the years.  In one of my reviews, I suspect my use of the word "genital" was changed to "bits."  This doesn't make any sense to me, although it wouldn't make sense to me how I would've changed it to that, either, between writing the review in a document I saved and posting it on IMDb.  Correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't believe "genital" is vulgar slang or a word that IMDb should censor.

Anyways, if IMDb does do this, please, at least, inform the member via email of the edits.  The censorship doesn't even bother me so much as the word change makes my statement in the review unclear and grammatically incorrect.  So, if IMDb does do this, please also write better.

38 Messages

 • 

2K Points

I checked out a review that I posted a few days ago and found out that it was declined through the E-Mail status link. I have never had a review declined in my 18 years of posting the review, so I re-submitted it, changing one word (which had never been cause of a decline before), and it was approved within 10 minutes. While I was glad to find out that it had been declined rather than just end up in the cloud never to know, it makes me wonder, if somebody reports a review and it gets deleted, how do you know that it is no longer there? I had one review deleted before all the changes and found out only by accident, copied it from my personal document containing all of my reviews, and altered it. Before, you could see if you had deleted any reviews or if one was deleted, and now that is no longer there. Hoping this comes back so our work doesn't just vanish one day without us being notified. With the way society is getting so offended over the use of a simple word even in something as innocuous as an IMDb review, I wouldn't be surprised if there aren't thousands of reviews out there simply because some sensitive soul got offended and wanted to play SJW. 

15 Messages

 • 

824 Points

I had a review for Misery declined the other day: I deleted the phrase 'heavy set' which I used to describe Annie Wilkes and deleted the words 'cock-a-doodie' (one of her sayings). It was then accepted.

I've also had one of my reviews amended by IMDb.

I don't mind but it does seem strange what they object to.

17 Messages

 • 

540 Points

I think IMDB must have some  kind of automated filter that is flagged when certain words are used.

222 Messages

 • 

9.3K Points

IMDb must've expanded their "naughty" words list, because I'm not "getting away" with some words I used to.  I just had two reviews rejected for, I believe, the word "bastardize."  At least, the reviews were posted when I replaced that term.  In other words, I suspect IMDb has "adulterated" their guidelines.

17 Messages

 • 

540 Points

3 y ago

They do replace words that might be deemed to be offensive even marginally. I have had one or two changed in my submitted reviews although I thought there was nothing wrong with them.

4.5K Messages

 • 

131.3K Points

3 y ago

This "declining" stuff is really worrying me, I had two reviews declined lately so I tried to fix whatever I could deem as potentially 'offensive' but I wish the website could be more specific about the reason why it was declined instead of just inviting us to check the "guidelines", many of us are long-time reviewers so it's not like we're not familiar with them

38 Messages

 • 

2K Points

I too recently had two reviews declined, the first time in my 20 years on IMDb with over 5000 reviews. The guidelines apparently have changed (slightly) as well as I have noticed in reviews I have written necessary words to express the theme of a particular film or TV series. My concern is old reviews of mine being deleted because of these slightly changed guidelines (somebody had to approve them 5-10 years ago) and not ever finding out. I have most of my old reviews copied into a word document, so you can imagine how big that file is, but for users who have a passion for writing reviews, it can be frustrating to find your reviews deleted. I make the subtle changes in the declined reviews to get them through, but I do wish there was a list of unacceptable words to be used in reviews outside the obvious curse words and various slurs that anybody with common sense wouldn't use.  

5K Messages

 • 

142.1K Points

3 y ago


just adding this here -- better place ? move it ...

This review should be posted as a message on GS ??

tovergirl
IMDb member since August 28 2018
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur91744000/
https://www.imdb.com/user/ur91744000/reviews

Stay Here (2018– )
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8773338/
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8773338/reference

10/10 
28 August 2018
Does anyone from the producers gives any feedback on all this reviews?
There are many points on the reviews, that I am also wondering,
that I will like to know.
https://www.imdb.com/review/rw4308657/


4 Messages

 • 

94 Points

3 y ago

I understand the new process for Reporting a User Review, could a fifth option be added to remove the rating given to the review if the movie had not been aired yet or the reviewer had not seen the movie? Active Measures 2018 is a clear example. The movie was aired yesterday but 28 were done before it aired.