Skip to main content

Sun, Sep 23, 2018 5:47 PM

Closed

Click farms adding fake reviews?

A very average Indian TV series has a 9.8/10 rating with ~11k votes. Definitely looks like a case of hired click farms. Amazon should look into it.

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/

Responses

Champion

 • 

1.2K Messages

 • 

43.7K Points

2 years ago

Hello Owais,
You might think that it’s “A very average Indian TV series” but maybe 11K users think otherwise.

The IMDb staff (they run this site, not Amazon) should take a look at it as soon a they see your post.

Steve

4.3K Messages

 • 

134.6K Points

College Romance (2018– )   ;-)        

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/ratings
11,569 IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 9.8 / 10

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/reviews?sort=submissionDate
1,280 Reviews

Many are new users - look at the User Numbers (mouseover name)
Compare to ...

(Not reviewers)
one of the 1st Users Sep 21  #92849500
one of the 1st Users Sep 22  #92895500
one of the 1st Users Sep 23  #92957500

4.3K Messages

 • 

134.6K Points

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/ratings
11,649 IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 9.8 / 10

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/reviews?sort=submissionDate
1,301 Reviews
- - -

one of the 1st Users Sep 24 #93018500


Add comments about Reviews and Ratings here ? ?

https://getsatisfaction.com/imdb/topics/update-to-user-reviews
Updates to User Reviews
by Karen, Official Rep
Posted 9 months ago



4.3K Messages

 • 

134.6K Points

Sep 24 2018

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/ratings
13,222 IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 9.8 / 10
Rate 10 ... 85.4%  ... 11,286 votes

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/reviews?sort=submissionDate
1,380 Reviews

- - -

one of the 1st Users Sep 25 #93072000


4.3K Messages

 • 

134.6K Points

Sep 26 2018

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/ratings
14,318 IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 9.8 / 10
Rate 10 ... 85.5% ... 12,241

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/reviews?sort=submissionDate
1,422 Reviews

- - -

one of the 1st Users Sep 26 #93113500

one of the 1st Users Sep 27 #93151000


.

4.3K Messages

 • 

134.6K Points

Sep 28 2018

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/ratings
15,189 IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 9.8 / 10
Rate 10 ... 85.5% ... 12,984

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/reviews?sort=submissionDate
1,432 Reviews

- - -

one of the 1st Users Sep 28 #93188600

one of the 1st Users Sep 29 #93228200

.

4.3K Messages

 • 

134.6K Points

Sep 30 2018

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/ratings
15,419 IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 9.8 / 10
Rate 10 ... 85.5% ... 13,182

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/reviews?sort=submissionDate
1,434 Reviews
- - -

one of the 1st Users Sep 30 #93273000

4.3K Messages

 • 

134.6K Points

Mon Oct 1 2018

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/ratings
15,473 IMDb users have given a weighted average vote of 9.8 / 10
Rate 10 ... 85.5% ... 13,227

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8809646/reviews?sort=submissionDate
1,476 Reviews
- - -

1st User Mon Oct 1 2018 #93319834

Employee

 • 

4.1K Messages

 • 

140.7K Points

2 years ago

Thank you for sharing your concern, all we can say about voting is covered in the FAQ at https://help.imdb.com/article/imdb/track-movies-tv/faq-for-imdb-ratings/G67Y87TFYYP6TWAV

6.7K Messages

 • 

162.1K Points

2 years ago

Hi, Owais Lone. If you know the URL of where the "click farm" meets up, then let us know.

2 Messages

 • 

126 Points

I don't. It just looked extremely and so obviously suspicious. I don't have certain proof but I can bet my life on the claim that these are fake reviews. I'm sure IMDB staff can easily figure out the truth if they want to.

6.7K Messages

 • 

162.1K Points

I don't claim that the idea is implausible. I just want to know more about how it works.

6.7K Messages

 • 

162.1K Points

I get the feeling that they meet up in person in a newsroom style environment (like TMZ) and launch their disguised spam from there, or coordinate via email, thus not leaving a signature on the surface Web.